Editing 101


editing2

This is the area that I lack the most. At first I used to think that editing was just spell check on Microsoft Word and that was it. Then I realized it was so much more than that. Granted, I have been writing for a very long time, but my mind was not on editing. I just wanted people to really understand my story of what I was trying to say. Who cared that I didn’t put a comma in the right place? I can remember in high school my English teacher would give us a sheet that had ” common mistakes” on it which did not help because  I still needed work on my papers.  I have a come a long way, but I still lack editing. When something needs a fresh pair of eyes I send it to one of my friends and have them look it over. Here are some things that will help the process of editing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  1. Proofread – Always have your work proofread. I know we as writers think our writing is perfect,  but it is good to go over every piece of writing with a fine tooth comb.
  2. YouTube Videos – Call me crazy, but this really helps! I have watched many videos on how to edit. It may seem redundant or tedious, but it has helped me.
  3. Books – Books that focus on editing can help a ton as well. In fact I am about to read a few because I still need all the help that I can get.  Here are a few
    1. On Writing by Stephen King
    2. 100 ways To Improve Your Writing by Gary Provost
    3. The Manual for Writers by Kate L. Turbian (Eighth Edition)
    4. Line by Line by Claire Kehrwald Cook

There are some of the books that I will be reading as well. My goal is to write for a living so I have to make sure that my editing is tight! When you edit what style works for you?

One thought on “Editing 101

Leave a Reply

