How Often Do You DNF A Book?


Tuesday

Good morning! I hope that everyone is doing fabulous on this great Tuesday! I have so many books on my TBR shelf and that I am currently reading it is a shame. But, I still have my July TBR and Booktubeathon starts next week. Not to mention the books that I got in the mail that need to be reviewed. Where does one find the time? Any who, I wanted to get your guys opinion on DNF’ing a book. Is there really a proper way to stop reading something that is no longer interesting to you? How many pages do you give it? Sure, they can be some good parts and bad parts, but for you what do you do when you are like, ” Okay, I am not finishing this, I will be DNF’ng it.”

I have read many books that are slow and does not pick up fast enough for me. Granted, I read slow already, but if the book looses interest so do I. Does that make sense? If I read a book,I want it to be enjoyable from the beginning to end. On the other hand, I start to wonder if a part of the book is slow and then it just starts to pick up and still turns out good. You never know unless you read the entire book. One of my goals this year is to not DNF books so much.

What I DNF’D This Year:

I know that some of you maybe thinking, what?! Let me explain. Home going is a book that was making me cry with every page that I was reading. The book is sad, but real. Unfortunately for me, the sad and gruesome parts overwhelmed me. An Ember In The Ashes, was good, I was listening to that book on audiobook. I still have it and can always go back to it, but it started to be slow as well. I want a book that is fast paced and if it is slow, i want to be slow because it is building the world or the characters POV ( point of view).  I can always pick both back up, but as for now I am going to read and try to get through other books. Tell me in the comment, what books have you currently DNF’d thus far?

4 thoughts on “How Often Do You DNF A Book?

  1. I DNF books all the time. I probably couldn’t tell you how many books I have DNFed this year, but some I do plan to get back to, just not at the moment. The way I look at it is, I am not getting any younger, there are SO MANY books out there I know I will love to waste my time on bad books. I usually give books about 100 pages to determine it’s worth.

  2. I used to DNF but a few years ago considered I might be missing something valuable so, now if a book just doesn’t catch my interest I speed read it, and if it turns out pretty good I go back and read it more thoroughly. One book with a knock me down twist was Through Black Spruce. Well worth the process.

Leave a Reply

